Eclipse 3.3 (Europa) Vista x64 Render and Connection Errors/Bugs

I am trying to use Eclipse 3.3 (Europa) from Vista x64.  Everything seems to work fine except for the Preferences dialog.  The General/Key tab is missing most of the GUI the first time I view it and is blank every other time.  This means that I couldn’t change any of my keybindings (key bindings).

I tried a million different things to get this to work.  Finally I tried a using a beta 3.3-wpf release of eclipse, which does render the preferences correctly!  Come to find out so does 3.4-wpf.  However, 3.4 without wpf does not render correctly.  So, something with the win32 graphics library is broken.  Eclipse 3.2 didn’t have any problems, so it’s something that was introduced with version 3.3.

However, when I tried to do an update from the newer versions, I got weird connection errors:

Network connection problems encountered during search.

Unable to access “http://sitename

Error parsing site stream. [Premature end of file.]

Premature end of file.

But from my original 3.3 version, updates worked find.  In this case, a reboot seemed to have fixed something, but I don’t know why.

15 comments so far

  1. Tim on

    I am having this same problem… one of the many headaches of switching to Vista. Eclipse WPF 3.4 seems to be free of this problem.

  2. chmick on

    Hi
    I’m interesting in running eclipse 3.3 on xp x64.
    I used to work with 3.2 x64 version. but the europa version doesn’t like jdk 1.6 64 bit .
    How did you run 3.3 on x64 ???

  3. hellena on

    I had problems with both the 32 & 64 bit versions of Sun’s JDK on Vista Ultimate x64. I managed to get 3.4M3 running by using the BEA x64 JVM.

  4. Albert on

    About the missing GUI: Do you run UltraMon 3.0 beta1 ? Installing the new beta2 of UltraMon ‘fixed’ this issue for me with Eclipse.

  5. sree on

    I am getting this error in Eclipse 3.2 while trying to create a new file resource (an xml file)

  6. Marcel on

    I had the same error an i solved it:

    1. Disable Vistas PenTablet Feature
    2. Uninstall Drivers for Pen Tablets or Logitech Set Point (Only if 1. Option doesn’t solve the probs)

    Greetings from Germany,

    Marcel

  7. Daniel Chambers on

    Albert is correct, running UltraMon 3 Beta 1 or lower makes Eclipse’s dialogs not display properly.
    Updating to the latest version fixed this for me.

    Cheers Albert!

  8. Andrew on

    Hi all,

    I just exited Logitech Set Point systray program and the buttons have come back

    Bye

  9. nick on

    Running vista 64 with aero
    Eclipse:
    Version: 3.3.2
    Build id: M20080221-1800

    Had similar problem with the new item creation dialog (for projects and files). Could not navigate the tree with the mouse due to missing treeview elements.

    Running current setpoint drivers (28 oct 2008) for logitech vx nano mouse.

    Located setpoint.exe and setpoint32.exe in taskmanager, ended both process trees, and then run eclipse. All problems went away🙂
    nick

  10. John on

    UltraMon was the issue for me as well… no idea how you isolated that issue!

  11. David on

    I confirm that disabling the tablet PC driver resolved my display issues with Eclipse (Flex Builder) on Vista. I still have a Wacom tablet installed and it appears to cause no problems.

    To turn off Tablet PC go to Control Panel > Programs and Features > Turn Windows features on or off

  12. Home Page on

    Even though your goal is just to lose 5 pounds in a week, you should be strict with
    what you do so as not to inadvertently undo all your hard work for
    vegetarian weight loss. In fact, I always suggest to those overweight vegetarians to keep to a max
    of 4 pounds a week so you won’t suffer loose skin post weight loss. Then leave it a while until your tummy lets you know that you’re hungry again before opting for a healthy snack.

  13. It does appear, however, that hypnosis can help a person
    achieve his or her weight loss goals. Vitamin B3 or also called as
    Niacin is important in weight loss because it is responsible for the regulation of thyroid hormones and also in sugar levels in the body.

    Expect to lose all that extra flabbiness as you melt off all
    your unwanted fat.

  14. Homepage besuchen on

    Break your 3 normal main meals into 5 smaller portion sizes –
    morning, snack, lunch, snack, dinner. Withdrawal from
    levothyroxine can be done but it takes 6 weeks of withdrawal
    for the remaining thyroid tissue to be completely starved.
    Who does not need that little bit of elevation when trying
    to diet.

  15. icon pop quiz cheat sheet on

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I acquire
    actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I
    achievement you access consistently fast.


Leave a Reply

