Model Driven Development and Engineering

I have some exciting news for my near future!

I have had a strong desire to develop applications using models for years and years, now.  You can call it Model-driven development (MDD) or Model-driven engineering (MDE) or model-driven architecture (MDA) or whatever you want, but I have no doubt that it is the eventual future of software engineering.

In fact, being in the business as long as I have, a lot of common development tasks become pretty mundane.  And at this point, Software architecture and MDE are the only two things I still enjoy doing.

In the past, I’ve been able to develop only small portions or even a single layer of an application from models.  However, for the last couple years, I’ve taken it upon myself to make MDE a serious pet project, and I was able to re-write a large portion of my company’s flagship product using models and then generating code from those models.  Additionally, I was able to take portions of that effort and use it to generate portions of the existing application.

So what’s the good news?  Well, in the near future, a company may be hiring me to do something similar with their product, and I think this would be most exciting task I’ve undertaken in my 18 years of software development experience!

Here’s to hoping that this project becomes a reality!

1 comment so far

  1. aftonbladet on

    Hello there, I do think your blog could be having internet
    browser compatibility issues. When I look at your site in Safari,
    it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful blog!


Leave a Reply

